2009 Results

On Sunday 19th July 2009 the first annual Digital Forensic Awards were held by the Forensic 4cast Team.

Over 400 votes were cast by the nominees’ peers in the digital forensic field.

The nominees are listed below and the winners are highlighted in red.  The awards ceremony can be viewed here.

Outstanding Contribution to Digital Forensics (Individual)

  • Matt Shannon (F-Response)
  • Rob Lee (SANS/Mandiant)
  • Jamie Morris (Forensic Focus)

Outstanding Contribution  to Digital Forensics (Company)

  • F-Response
  • Sans Forensics
  • X-Ways

Best Digital Forensic Article/Blog Posting

  • Iphone White Paper
  • pdgMail
  • Memory Forensic Acquisition and Analysis 101

Best Digital Forensic Blog

  • Windows IR (Harlan Carvey)
  • Sans (Sans Forensics Team)
  • Forensickb (Lance Mueller)

Best Digital Forensic Book

  • Windows Forensic Analysis (Harlan Carvey)
  • IPhone Forensics (Jonathan Zdziarski)
  • File System Forensic Analysis (Brian Carrier)

Best Computer Forensic Hardware Tool

  • Tableau
  • Fastbloc
  • Macquisition

Best Computer Forensic Software Tool

  • X-Ways Forensics
  • Drive Prophet

Best Phone Forensic Hardware Tool

  • Cellebrite
  • Susteen
  • XRY

Best Phone Forensic Software Tool

  • Datapilot
  • XRY
  • Pandora’s Box

Digital Forensic Examiner of the Year

  • David Kleiman
  • Rob Lee
  • Jonathan Zdzjarski

Lifetime Achievement Award

  • Rob Lee
  • Brian Carrier
  • Ovie Carrol

The ‘Huh?’ Award

  • Winner: Josh Muszynski – charged $23,148,855,308,184,500 for a packet of cigarettes.

Digital Forensics Humanitarian Award

  • Johnny Long for his dedication to ‘Hackers for Charity’.

The Forensic 4cast Awards – because even nerds deserve an award!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.